• Home
  • /
  • Before You Go
  • /
  • Visa

Passport and Visa

All foreigners (except nationals of Bhutan, Maldives and Nepal) require avalid passport and visa to enter and exit the country. Visa can be obtained from Indian Embassies or Consulate abroad (if require, pleasea sk our office to send you the contact details of Indian Embassy or High Commission in your region). As such there is no provision for Visa on arrival in India and those arriving in India without a valid Visa are subject to immediate deportation. Please also take a note that a tourist visa does not permit the visitor to do business/academic/research/religious activities in the country. If you want to make a quick to neighboring countries from India, please remember to obtain a multiple entry Visa

To visit Restricted and Protected Areas in the country, foreign tourists need to obtain a permit from the concerned authorities. To check the list of Restricted and Protected Areas, please click here.Permits are available at foreign registration offices, immigrationoffices, and Indian Embassies, Consulates and High Commissions.

For the most current information on above, we suggest to contact the Embassy of India in your region.

Passport and Visa

The Government of India has finalised arrangements to extend and implement the e-Tourist Visa facility to the passport holders of People’s Republic of China, Hong Kong Administrative Region and Macau Special Administrative Region with effect from the July 30, 2015, as announced by the Prime Minister during his recent visit to China. The total number of countries/territories covered under the e-Tourist Visa scheme will go up from 74 to 77, with the inclusion of these countries/territories.

The e-Tourist Visa scheme launched by the Government of India on the November 27, 2014 has been extended to 77 countries/territories so far. The scheme will be extended to more countries/ territories in a phased manner. Under this scheme, tourists with e-Tourist Visas can arrive at nine designated airports (Bengaluru, Chennai, Cochin, Delhi, Goa, Hyderabad, Kolkata, and Mumbai & Trivandrum). Since the launch of the scheme, about 2,00,000 (Two lakh) e-TVs have been issued to nationals of different countries.

List of the countries included in India e-Tourist Visa Scheme:

Anguilla Guyana Norway
Antigua & Barbuda Haiti Oman
Australia Honduras Palau
Bahamas Indonesia Palestine
Barbados Israel Papua New Guinea
Belize Japan Paraguay
Brazil Jordan Philippines
Cambodia Kenya Republic of Korea
Canada Kiribati Republic of Macedonia
Cayman Island Laos Russia
Chile Latvia Saint Christopher and Nevis
Cook Islands Liechtenstein Samoa
Costa Rica Lithuania Singapore
Djibouti Luxembourg Solomon Islands
Dominica Marshall Islands Sri Lanka
Dominican Republic Mauritius Thailand
Ecuador Mexico Tonga
El Salvador Micronesia Tuvalu
Estonia Montenegro UAE
Fiji Montserrat Ukraine
Finland Myanmar USA
France Nauru Vanuatu
Georgia New Zealand Vatican City-Holy See
Germany Nicaragua Vietnam
Grenada Niue Island  


  • International Travellers whose sole objective of visiting India is recreation , sight seeing , casual visit to meet friends or relatives, short duration medical treatment or casual business visit.
  • Passport should have at least six months validity from the date of arrival in India. The passport should have at least two blank pages for stamping by the Immigration Officer.
  • International Travellers should have return ticket or onward journey ticket,with sufficient money to spend during his/her stay in India.
  • International Travellers having Pakistani Passport or Pakistani origin may please apply for regular Visa at Indian Mission.
  • Not available to Diplomatic/Official Passport Holders.
  • Not available to individuals endorsed on Parent’s/Spouse’s Passport i.e. each individual should have a separate passport.
  • Not available to International Travel Document Holders.

Our Sponsors

  • Image
  • Image
  • Image
  • Image
  • Image
  • Image
  • Image
  • Image